Carcassone tactics for married blokes

1. Let your wife win sometimes, preferrably without her realising you are letting her win (NB I haven’t figured out how to do this yet)

2. Don’t beat her 4 times in a row (occasionally by a significant margin)

3. Suggest a different game – ie one that she regularly beats you at (eg Boggle)

4. Beg for forgiveness and wiggle your way over to the ‘losers side’ then offer a massage.

Good luck!

What is Carcasone?

9 Responses to Carcassone tactics for married blokes

  1. SamR says:

    This is an important topic – Glad it’s being addressed.

    Tip 5 – find yourself married to someone who regularly whips you and be on the receiving end of said massages!

  2. Dave Miers says:

    my wife cheats at this game so that she wins…

  3. Mattt says:

    Maybe that’s the solution. Teach your wife to cheat – although that doesn’t sound very good?!?

    The other option is to teach them to be more ruthless is competition – but I think Kate was being ruthless when she stole two cities and tried to kick me out of the farming twice 🙂

  4. michelle says:

    Ha, Drew needs to read this!

    Actually, between him and my sister-in-law, I don’t think I’ve ever won a game of Carcassone. Probably due to my antipathy to farming. I’m usually winning ’til we start counting farms 😉

    I might have to introduce the massage rule … though that might tempt me to deliberately lose, as I’ve not had a massage longer than 60 seconds in four years of marriage!

  5. Scott says:

    Maybe, instead of all those made up rules, you could start scoring according to the actual rules of the game… then see who wins.

  6. Libby says:

    classic Scott! 🙂

  7. Mattt says:

    I think you’ve set us straight Scotty and I still win. Although I used to get a much higher score?

  8. Jacqui says:

    haha maybe Kate is letting you win 😉

  9. Mattt says:

    I didn’t think of that. Maybe I should get to to teach me to lose without looking like you’re trying too. She’d be a great teacher ‘cos she’s very good at it.

Leave a Reply

