Lemon Meringue Tarts

lemon-m-tartIt’s Kate’s birthday on Monday so I made these for her and the girls to take on a picnic on Friday evening. I thought they’d be less hassle and mess than a whole pie.

The pastry is Mum’s recipe but I found a new lemon filling recipe here and it’s awesome! I added lemon rind to mine for an extra bit of zest. I blind baked the pastry cases in muffin tins then removed them to be filled and topped before baking all together. Fortunately I made some extras for the boys for the pre-roast lunch yesterday. Feedback was that the pastry to filling ratio was a bit high (thinner next time) but otherwise delicious.

I still had some lemon filling and meringue left over which I threw into a pie case made from frozen pastry – it’s tasty but no where near as good as homemade pastry.

3 Responses to Lemon Meringue Tarts

  1. Libby says:

    I reckon!

  2. Nixter says:

    Can you reveal Mum’s pastry recipe to us?

Leave a Reply

